Once On This Island to Receive 12th Annual ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus

June 14, 2018

Actors’ Equity Association announced that Once On This Island— the 2018 Tony winner for Best Revival of a Musical—will receive the 12th annual “ACCA” Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus.

The award, which will be presented June 19 during Equity’s National Council meeting, is the only industry accolade of its kind to honor the talents and contributions made by the original chorus members of a Broadway musical.

Read Full Article >>

Original Broadway Company of Avenue Q to Return for 15th Anniversary

June 14, 2018

In celebration of its 15th anniversary, Avenue Q will welcome members of the musical’s original Broadway company and other alumni for 15 performances July 18-29. Among those tapped to make surprise guest turns will be original Christmas Eve Ann Harada; Stephanie D’Abruzzo, who originated the roles of Kate Monster and Lucy; original Rod John Tartaglia; and Trekkie Monster Rick Lyon.

Read Full Article >>

Watch the 2018 Tony Awards Performances From Mean Girls, Frozen, Bruce Springsteen, and More

June 11, 2018

The 72nd annual Tony Awards ceremony, co-hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, offered tastes of the past season with performances from several nominated musicals and beyond.

All four shows up for Best Musical and the three nominated for Best Revival of a Musical showcased numbers, as did Summer: The Donna Summer Musical and 2018 Special Tony Award recipient Bruce Springsteen. Additionally, the cast of Dear Evan Hansen performed an “In Memoriam” tribute.

Read Full Article >>

Five Eliza Hamiltons Join Forces for Lin-Manuel Miranda’s April #Hamildrop

April 30, 2018

Lin-Manuel Miranda’s fifth offering in his #Hamildrop series gives fans a taste of Eliza’s original Act II ballad—a draft written before the Hamilton creator landed on the version of “Burn” now heard in the Tony and Pulitzer-winning musical.

The track, titled “First Burn,” features five current and former Elizas across the United States and in the U.K.: Lexi Lawson (Broadway), Julia K. Harriman (first national tour), Shoba Narayan (second national tour), Rachelle Ann Go (West End), and Arianna Afsar (original Chicago company).

Read Full Article >>

SpongeBob SquarePants Leads Outer Critics Circle Nominations

April 25, 2018

The nominees for the 68th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards, which recognize excellence on and Off-Broadway from the 2017–2018 season, have been announced. Leading the list with 11 nominations is the Broadway premiere of SpongeBob SquarePants, The Broadway Musical; followed by Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which received 10 nominations, and My Fair Lady, which received nine nominations.

Read Full Article >>

My Fair Lady Officially Opens on Broadway April 19

April 20, 2018

The Broadway revival of Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe’s My Fair Lady officially opens April 19 at the Vivian Beaumont Theatre. The Lincoln Center Theater production, directed by Tony winner Bartlett Sher, stars Lauren Ambrose and Harry Hadden-Paton as Eliza Doolittle and Professor Henry Higgins.

Read Full Article >>

Read What Critics Thought of Tina, London’s New Tina Turner Musical

April 18, 2018

The world premiere of the new musical Tina, about music legend Tina Turner, officially opened at London’s Aldwych Theatre April 17. Taking center stage in the West End engagement is Tony nominee Adrienne Warren as Turner.

The musical uses Turner’s catalog to explore the rock icon’s life and career—from humble beginnings in Tennessee to her transformation into the global queen of rock ‘n’ roll. The show features a book by Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar, and Kees Prins. Phyllida Lloyd directs.