Recording Academy™ Announces New Advocacy Committee; Reinforces Commitment to Creators’ Rights

August 17, 2018

The Recording Academy™ announced that two-time GRAMMY®-nominated saxophonist and vocalist Mindi Abair and four-time GRAMMY-nominated producer and songwriter Harvey Mason Jr. will lead the Academy’s National Advocacy Committee as co-chairs. Joined by Committee members Sue Ennis, Lalah Hathaway, Booker T. Jones, and Nile Rodgers, the Committee’s immediate focus is ensuring that the Senate passes the Music Modernization Act, which would be the first major reform to music copyright law in decades. The Committee is also focused on encouraging participation from the music community in the Academy’s annual District Advocate day, which will take place on Oct. 24 in congressional districts across the country.

Read Full Article>>

No Comments

Leave a Reply